Temporary Practice Permits
90-day Temporary Practice Permits
The 90-day temporary practice permit must be requested in conjunction with a full application. All fees must be paid, and there are eligibility requirements applicants must meet. (WAC 246-919-390) Once approved, temporary permits are issued for a period of 90 days and expire either on the 90th day, upon the approval of the full license application, OR upon initiation of an investigation of the applicant. (WAC 246-919-395) Please note: it often occurs that the last document needed to issue a temporary permit is also the last document to complete the full license, but fees are NON-REFUNDABLE. (WAC 246-12-340)
Medical Commission Adopts Background - Temporary Practice Permits
As of January 1, 2009, the Washington State Department of Health began a pilot project for the use of federal fingerprint-based background checks. The state legislature authorized these checks in 2008. Due to funding limitations, the pilot will focus on applicants from out-of-state and some with a criminal history in Washington. Out-of-state applicants were chosen because they are unlikely to have criminal history information in the database maintained by the Washington State Patrol. The department already uses this database to issue licenses for applicants who live in the state.
The department will notify applicants who need to submit this fingerprint based background check, along with detailed information on this process. Applicants must pay $32.00 to have their fingerprints checked against the federal database. They must also arrange for and pay the cost of taking the fingerprints. Fingerprints must be taken on the fingerprint card provided by the Department of Health. Fingerprint services may be obtained at local law enforcement offices. Failure to submit the fingerprints or rejected fingerprints will delay processing of their application.
On June 29, 2009 the Medical Quality Assurance Commission filed emergency rules for Background Check--Temporary Practice Permits for applicants from out-of-state. The Commission’s final rules hearing for the Background Check--Temporary Practice Permits was held on January 14, 2010, and the permanent rules became effective February 11, 2010. These rules will allow physician and physician assistant applicants who meet all other licensing requirements, to practice in Washington up to twelve (12) months.
NOTE: The Background Check - Temporary Practice Permits have no restrictions or limitations on the practitioner’s ability to practice medicine or prescribe in the state of Washington.