Renew by Mail
Limited License Renewal Forms
Change to Retired Active Status
Is your contact information current?
If your contact information isn’t current in our system, we recommend you complete and submit the contact information change form before renewing online. We mail renewed credentials to the address on file at the time of renewal. The U.S. Postal Service won’t forward Department of Health mail. A valid email address is mandatory. Updated credentials are typically printed daily during normal business hours.
Did you receive a renewal notice?
90 days prior to the credential expiration date, courtesy renewal notices are mailed to the address on file. Practitioners should return the renewal notice when renewing their credential. Failure to receive a courtesy renewal notice does not relieve or exempt the credential renewal requirement including late fees.
Has your name changed recently?
Before renewing online, we recommend submitting any name change requests to our office at least two weeks before renewing online. We print renewed credentials with the name we have on file at the time of renewal. Name change requests require a copy of your certified marriage certificate, divorce decree or court order. The request must be submitted to Medical.firstname.lastname@example.org
Complete the Physician and Physician Assistant Demographic Census
Complete the demographic census required by the Medical Commission for workforce planning.
Have you completed your CME requirements?
According to RCW 43.70.442(5)(c) you must take a one-time six hours of suicide assessment, treatment, and management training.
If you prescribe opioids in Washington you must complete a one-time, one-hour CME course.
Specific CME requirements for both MDs and PAs can be found here.
Please visit this page and follow the instructions to renew your license online.
To Renew by Mail:
Your renewal fee must be postmarked or received by midnight of the expiration date or it is considered late. A late fee will be assessed. You can pay through regular or overnight mail or in person. Your credential may be renewed up to 90 days before it expires. You should receive a courtesy renewal reminder six to eight weeks before the credential expires. If you do not receive the notice within four weeks of your expiration date, call 360-236-2750 or email the medical commission for help.
Checks or money orders are payable to:
Washington State Department of Health
P.O. Box 1099
Olympia, WA 98507-1099
Address for overnight mail:
Washington State Department of Health
101 Israel Rd S.E.
Tumwater, WA 98501
Renewal processing time:
Sent by mail it will take about two weeks to update.
If the payment is walked in to the front counter it will take about three to seven business days. This saves mail time and you will receive verification during the visit.
Our goal is to process all renewals within seven business days after we receive them. This includes payment and processing time.
To renew your license without the Courtesy Renewal notice:
Courtesy renewal notices are not required for renewal. You can update your credential by mailing your renewal payment to us with documentation of your name, credential number, current mailing address and any other renewal requirements. If your Continuing Medical Education (CME) is due this renewal period please include an attestation.
Limited License Renewal Forms:
- Fellowship License renewals require this form to be completed and signed.
- Teaching/Research License renewals require this form to be complete and signed.
- Residency License renewals for individuals who have changed programs this year you will need to complete this form.
To Change to Retired Active Status:
- You must have an active MD/PA credential in good standing.
- You cannot work for compensation with this type of status.
- You will still need to complete 100 hours of CME every two years
- You will need to complete the Retired Active Physician License form (PDF) or the Request for Retired Active Physician Assistant License (PDF) and submit it with the correct fees.